Inbound Marketing Summit- Day 2 Recap

On October 12, 2009, in Thoughts on Social Media, by tgoodridge

DSC_0918A quick recap of Day 2 at the Inbound Marketing Summit held at Gilletter on October 7th, 8th. Some nice tidbits of advice and anecdotes for future thought in Social Media.
(for Day 1 quotes- click here)

Tim Marklein, Executive VP, Measurement & Strategy, Weber Shandwick (@tmarklein)
“The beauty of advocacy – engaging your advocates & giving them right info – they will jump to your defense”

Jason Falls, Principal, Social Media Explorer (@jasonfalls)
“If you’re not taking care of your home on the internet, what the hell are you doing anyway?”
“How to make a great website: define your product, audience, competitors, environment, success. Then build around your customer”

David Alston, VP Radian6
“When someone says something nice about your brand, thank them for the testimonial”

Greg Matthews, Director, Consumer Innovation, Humana (@chimoose)
“It only takes 15 minutes in the morning to read a few blogs and start learning”

Paul Gillin, Principal, Paul Gillin Communications (@pgillin)
“Our Newspapers are not dying, our readers are!”
“We need to get over what we were taught in school. Look at Google, everything is always in beta”

Steve Garfield, SteveGarfield.com (@stevegarfield)
No quote, but an inredible display of a flash video mob….nice work Steve!

Greg Cangialosi, CEO, Blue Sky Factory (@gregcangialosi)
“The only common platform in the Web 2.0 world is email. It’s the digital glue between all the social tools available”

Jim Long, NBC News (@newmediajim)
“One passionate employee (Jim?!) can be the catalyst for successful social media engagement at a large brand

Paula Berg, Manager of Emerging Media, Southwest Airlines (@paulaberg)
Rapping flight attendant (youtube) + twitter= internet gold- http://bit.ly/zZyeT

Brian Solis (@briansolis)
Links are the currency of the web. Links connect the social web back to traditional search

Chris Brogan, President, New Marketing Labs (@chrisbrogan)
“What if you made your least favorite customer your new CMO?”
“It’s not the tools, it’s what you do with them”

PrintFriendly
  • http://enterdialogue.com/2009/10/09/inbound-marketing-summit-recap-day-1-favorite-quotes/ Inbound Marketing Summit Recap- Day 1- Favorite Quotes? : DIALOGUE: Social Media Education and Consulting

    [...] (For a quick Day 2 recap- click here) [...]

  • http://stevegarfield.com steve garfield

    Thanks for the link.

    A recap of my Video Revolution presentation is on my blog with video of my presentation and video from the crowd.

    http://offonatangent.blogspot.com/2009/10/revolution-in-video.html

    –Steve

blog comments powered by Disqus